Kwaidan: The Criterion Collection DVD

SKU ID #314088

Price: $29.95


In Stock

Ships within 2 - 3 Business Days

  • Technical Specs
  • Format: DVD
  • Rating: Not Rated
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Run Time: 161 Minutes
  • Region: 1 Region?
  • Aspect Ratio: Widescreen
  • Studio: Criterion
  • DVD Release Date: October 10, 2000
  • Subtitles: English
  • Audio:
    JAPANESE: Dolby Digital Mono
  • Color: Color
  • Includes:
    Original Theatrical Trailer
"Kwaidan" (1964) is a four part Japanese horror film that is based on stories by Lafcadio Hearn, a Greek writer. He started his writing career in the United States at 19, and moved to Japan in the late 1800s. These four stories, "Black Hair," "The Woman of the Snow," "Hoichi the Earless" and "In a Cup of Tea," each tell a unique story. "Black Hair" tells of a samurai who leaves his wife only to return to her later in life, and be driven mad. "The Woman of the Snow" tells of two woodcutters to whom a witch appears during a snowstorm, terrorizing them. "Hoichi the Earless" is a tale of a blind musician, who is fulfilling the requests of a samurai ghost. "In a Cup of Tea" is a story of a samurai that becomes haunted after drinking from a cup of tea.
Additional Details