In Stock













Otello DVD


Price: $15.95
Share Twitter

Jonas Kaufmann sings an Otello for the ages” Filmed in 2017 at the Royal Opera House in London. On a June night in 2017, opera lovers thronged to the Royal Opera House in London to hear tenor Jonas Kaufmann, recently acclaimed by The Daily Telegraph as “the world’s greatest tenor,” make his eagerly anticipated debut in the title role of Otello – Verdi’s greatest and most demanding role for tenor voice. As the New York Times wrote “Mr. Kaufmann made his debut in the part, and he calmly, confidently sang it for the ages.” Sony Classical is pleased to release his landmark performance on DVD and Blu-ray. Joining Jonas Kaufmann on stage were Italian baritone, Marco Vratogna as Iago, who, as the Metro newspaper noted “sings up a thrilling storm of hatred and malevolence” and Italian soprano, Maria Agresta who sang with “a tender yet creamy intensity” (The Observer) in her deeply sensitive performance of Otello’s tragic Desdemona. The entire production was led by lauded conductor Antonio Pappano. Kaufmann’s eagerly anticipated debut matched the high expectations of the audience and critics alike and will surely stand the test of time, his Otello being, as the City Am newspaper noted: “the great Otello for this generation of opera lovers.”


Opening Credits 0:25

Act I : Una vela! Un vessillo 4:36

Esultate! L'orgoglio musulmano 2:21

Roderigo, ebben, che pensi? 2:26

Fuoco di gioia! 2:49

Roderigo, beviam! 1:38

Innaffia l'ugola! 3:51

Capitano, v'attende la fazione ai baluardi 1:16

Abbasso le spade! 3:27

Gia nella notte densa 10:15

Act II : Non ti crucciar 3:03

Credo in un Dio crudel 5:46

Cio m'accora - Che parli? 5:05

Dove guardi splendono 3:59

D'un uom che geme 5:48

Tu? Indietro! Fuggi! ... Ora e per sempre addio 4:36

Era la notte, Cassio dormia - Oh, mostruosa colpa! 4:20

Si, pel ciel marmoreo giuro! 2:13

Act III : La vedetta del porto 3:30

Dio ti giocondi, o sposo 5:06

Esterrefatta fisso 5:18

Dio! Mi potevi scagliar 4:22

Vieni, l'aula e deserta 5:13

Quest'e il segnale 2:37

Il doge ed il senato 5:02

A terra! Si, nel livido fango 6:29

Fuggite! - Ciel! 2:38

Act IV : Era piu calmo? 4:53

Piangea cantando nell'erma landa 7:14

Ave Maria, piena di grazia 4:56

Chi e la? Otello? 6:18

Calma come la tomba - Aprite! Aprite! 3:34

Niun mi tema 5:55

Bows and Closing Credits 6:09

Antonio Pappano, Keith Warner, Jonas Kaufmann, Maria Agresta and Marco Vratogna on the characters in Shakespeare's Othel 5:00

Antonio Pappano and Jonas Kaufmann on Verdi's vocal writing for Otello 4:40

Title: Otello
Genre: Opera/Operetta
Starring: Jonas Kaufmann
Studio: Masterworks
Release Date: 6/22/2018
Product Type: DVD
UPC: 889854919597
Item #: 2045509X

You May Also Like

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details